Roots of Revitalization

Social Change Through Action In Pottstown PA

Connor Kurtz: Ambitious and Involved Teenager! December 12, 2011

Filed under: Kool Kids,Reflections of Youth — roots of revitalization @ 3:04 am
Tags: ,

Connor Kirtz: High School Senior and School Board Member!

Age? Grade? Hometown?

I turned 18 on September 8th, I am in twelfth grade at Daniel Boone Area High School, and I am from Douglassville, PA.

Your family is from Pottstown and your mom is a teacher in the local schools correct?

My family is from Pottstown. We lived in the East End on Cherry Street until we moved to Amity Township in the mid-90s. Both of my sets of grandparents still live in Pottstown. My grandfather, Ron Downie, previously served as a 5th Ward Councillor and a Pottstown School Board member. He is currently Chairman of the Pottstown Water and Sewer Authority. My mother is a second grade teacher in the Pottstown School District.

Kurtz Family

Connor Kurtz and his family.

When did you become interested in  government?

I became interested in government in late 2006. My interest in local government really only began about two years ago.

Can you explain your political leanings?

I am a registered Republican–both fiscally and socially conservative. I believe that liberty is maximized only when government is limited. The principle of limited government is particularly important now. In these tough economic times, families are forced to cut back–I believe that our elected officials need to do the same. Society cannot afford to keep spending the way our government (at all levels–from school board to Congress) continues to spend.

Do you have a mentor? Whom and why?

When it comes to politics, I consider my Grandfather Downie a mentor. While we may disagree on some issues, he is a wealth of information when it comes to everything political. He truly is a Pottstown legend and his experiences have taught me a lot about public service. (Mr. Ronald Downie, http://thepostedpoet.blogspot.com/2011/07/american-patriots-summer-thermals.html)

When did you decide to run for school board and why? Which school board?

I decided to run for the Daniel Boone School Board in March of 2011. At that time, I had been attending school board meetings for months and I was not happy with the way that some members of the board approached spending. Additionally, I believed that my status as a student would provide the board with unique insight. As someone who had attended Daniel Boone schools since kindergarten, I knew that I would bring a fresh, new perspective to the school board. My message of reduced spending and accountability resonated with a large number of Amity Township residents: last May, both Republicans and Democrats nominated me for a seat on the school board in a four-way primary with over 44% of the vote. In November, I formally won a seat on the Daniel Boone School Board. I was sworn-in last Thursday as one of the youngest school directors in Pennsylvania history.

 

Leave a Reply

